STSL: Beşiktaş: 3 Osmanlıspor: 1

Updated: May 15, 2016

Beşiktaş started off the game nervously and the visitors put the Black Eagles under pressure immediately, having a shot at goal via Musa Cağıran from outside the box within the first minute of the game. As the game went on the Eagles took more control in midfield and after 22 minutes took the lead after a Gökhan Töre corner, Marcelo Guedes headed in his first of the season to put the hosts 1-0 up.

Marcelo picked a fantastic moment to score his first and immediately second goal for the Black Eagles!

Marcelo picked a fantastic moment to score his first and immediately second goal for the Black Eagles!

Only two minutes later another corner caused big trouble for the visitors. After not being able to clear the ball properly, Marcelo’s shot from outside the box took a deflection and ended up int he back of the net, 2-0 after 24 minutes on the clock.

Raúl Rusescu could have gotten the visitors back in to the match a few minutes later after Tosic failed to clear a loose ball and the striker went one on one with Tolga Zengin. But the Beşiktaş captain kept his nets clean with an excellent save. Both José Sosa and Ricardo Quaresma could have made it 3 before halftime, but twice the woodwork stood in their way.

The Black Eagles started the second half with immediate danger and who else but Mario Gómez would secure the victory and the championship for the Black Eagles? The German tank scored the 3-0 in the 48th minute to take away any doubt of the club’s first Süper Lig championship since 2008-2009.

Pierre Webó managed to pull one back for the visitors int he 74th minute but the match was already played at that time, the result int he other match also didn’t matter anymore. As referee Cüneyt Çakır blew the final whistle, the stadium exploded and the title was finally a fact!

Şenol Güneş wins his first Turkish league championship as coach, we would like to thank him and the entire team for a fantastic season.



Stadium: Vodafone Arena

Official: Cüneyt Çakır

Beşiktaş XI: Tolga Zengin; Andreas Beck – Marcelo Guedes – Dusko Tosić- İsmail Köybaşı; Atiba Hutchinson – Oğuzhan Özyakup  (75′ SubstitutedSubstituted Necip Uysal)  – José Sosa; Ricardo Quaresma (87′ SubstitutedSubstituted Cenk Tosun) – Gökhan Töre (66′ SubstitutedSubstituted Kerim Frei) – Mario Gómez

Reserves: Denys Boyko, Serdar Kurtuluş, Alexis Delgado, Tolgay Arslan, Necip Uysal, Kerim Frei, Cenk Tosun

Head coach: Şenol Güneş

Osmanlıspor XI: Ahmet Şahin; Muhammed Bayir  – Uğur Demirok – Lukasz Szukala – Tiago Pinto; Mehmet Güven (54′ SubstitutedSubstituted Gabriel Torje)– Musa Cağıran – Raheem Lawal; Papa Alioum Ndiaye – Raúl Rusescu (62′ SubstitutedSubstituted Pierre Webó) – Dzon Delarge (54′ SubstitutedSubstituted Erdal Kiliçaslan)

Reserves: Hakan Cabazoglu, Bilal Aziz, Erdal Kiliçaslan, Vaclav Prochazka, Serdar Deliktaş, Gabriel Torje, Pierre Webó

Head coach: Mustafa Reşit Akçay

Goals: Marcelo Guedes (22′, 24′), Mario Gómez (48′), Pierre Webó (74′)

Yellow cards: Raúl Rusescu (55′), Raheem Lawal (89′)

Follow me

Kaan Bayazit

Editor-in-chief at Beşiktaş International
Freelance sports writer specialized in Turkish football and Beşiktaş. Co-host of the Black Eagles podcast. Frequently featured in World Soccer Digest Japan and many other international media outlets. Following Turkish football for close to two decades. Proud father to Aedin.
Kaan Bayazit
Follow me