STSL: Gaziantepspor: 0 Beşiktaş: 4

Updated: May 28, 2017

Beşiktaş have been crowned the 2016-2017 Spor Toto Süper Lig Champions following a convincing 4-0 win away at Gaziantepspor tonight.

With their 15th Championship, Beşiktaş have added their third star to their badge!

The Black Eagles went in to the match with the knowledge that nothing but a win would do to clinch the title following Istanbul Başakşehir’s last grasp victory over Adanaspor last night and it didn’t take the Eagles long to get off to a flying start. Ryan Babel put the Black Eagles 1-0 up after just 6 minutes and Beşiktaş continued to lay on the pressure but it wasn’t until the 39th minute when Captain Oğuzhan Özyakup doubled the scoreline that the celebrations could slowly get under way.

When Anderson Talisca took all doubts away in the 66th minute with a trademark free-kick the third star for Beşiktaş was a certainty, Anderson Talisca added another one to his total and what a goal it was! A phenomenal strike from just outside the box to make it 4-0 for Beşiktaş in the 76th minute.

Şenol Güneş brought on Demba Ba for Vincent Abobuakar a minute later and gave his captain a Oğuzhan Özyakup a symbolic substitution in the 83rd minute, he was met with a standing ovation by the fans and so was his replacement Caner Erkin, who made his first minutes in the league since his achilles injury.

Demba Ba came close to scoring a fifth just minutes after coming on but his shot went wide, the scoreline remained the same as Beşiktaş clinched their 15th Turkish league title and their third star.

Interesting facts:

  • Beşiktaş have won their first back-to-back titles since 3 consecutive titles between 1989/90, 1990/91, 1991/92.
  • Şenol Güneş is the first Turkish coach to lead Beşiktaş to back-to-back title victories and the third in total after Ljubisa Spajic and Gordon Milne.
  • Şenol Güneş is the fourth Turkish coach to win back-to-back titles after Fatih Terim (Galatasaray), Gündüz Kılıç (Galatasaray) and Ahmet Suat Özyazıcı (Trabzonspor)
  • Anderson Talisca has won 3 domestic titles in the 3 years he’s spent in Europe, 2 with Benfica and now 1 with Beşiktaş. Talisman.
  • Anderson Talisca has scored 12% of the total free-kick goals scored in the Süper Lig this season (4 out of 34).
  • Cenk Tosun (18), Anderson Talisca (12) and Vincent Aboubakar (11) have 41 goals between them for Beşiktaş this season in the league.
  • Ricardo Quaresma has the most key passes (75), successful crosses (89) and the second highest assists (13) during the 2016/17 Süper Lig season.
  • 25% of Oğuzhan Özyakup’s goals in the past 3 Süper Lig seasons have come against Gaziantepspor (4 out of 16).

Stadium: Gaziantep Arena

Official: Mete Kalkavan

Gaziantepspor XI: Erten Ersu; Marquinhos Pedroso, Barış Yardımcı (60′ Alpay Koçaklı), Musa Nizam, Abdülkadir Kayalı; Anis Ben-Hatira (74′ Doğanay Kılıç), Khaly Thiam, Mohammed Fatau; Evans Kangwa, Nabil Ghilas, Orkan Çınar

Reserves: Adnan Karabulut, Yoiver Gonzalez, Doğanay Kılıç, Sergey Kislyak, Alpay Koçaklı, Serkan Bakan

Head coach: Bülent Uygun

Beşiktaş XI: Fabricio Ramirez; Gökhan Gönul, Marcelo Guedes, Dusko Tosic, Adriano Correia; Tolgay Arslan, Oğuzhan Özyakup (83′ Caner Erkin), Anderson Talisca; Vincent Aboubakar (77′ Demba Ba), Cenk Tosun (60′ Necip Uysal), Ryan Babel

Reserves: Tolga Zengin, Necip Uysal, Andreas Beck, Atınç Nukan, Gökhan İnler, Caner Erkin, Demba Ba

Head coach: Şenol Güneş

Goals: Ryan Babel (6′), Oğuzhan Özyakup (39′), Anderson Talisca (66′, 76′)

Yellow cards: Musa Nizam (19′), Evans Kangwa (51′)

Follow me

Kaan Bayazit

Editor-in-chief at Beşiktaş International
Freelance sports writer specialized in Turkish football and Beşiktaş. Co-host of the Black Eagles podcast. Frequently featured in World Soccer Digest Japan and many other international media outlets. Following Turkish football for close to two decades. Proud father to Aedin.
Kaan Bayazit
Follow me